Post-Partum Hispanic Beliefs and experiences

Hey everyone,

In case you didn’t know or haven’t followed my blog I had mentioned I was pregnant and expecting a little girl. Well she is here with me now and excited to be here. She was born on Wednesday, March 13, 2013 at 5:07 in the morning at the St. David’s North Austin hospital. She weighed 7 pounds 8 ounces and measured 19 1/2 inches long. Her name is Amber Rose Gonzalez and is the most beautiful baby girl in the world! 🙂

So I want to talk about several things that I encountered during my pregnancy, labor and post-partum experience. I am giving this from my point of view and am simply comparing hispanic beliefs to other beliefs. I have mentioned several instances in previous posts but want to reiterate and use them as examples.

  • Epidural and the long run….

As I went into labor at the hospital my mom was convincing me to not go through with an epidural. She said it can harm your back for the rest of your life and will be very painful. It was not recommended by any of my family as they all believed this to be true. Lo and behold when my contractions were getting more painful the nurses convinced me to have it. My boyfriend also said that if I wanted to get it, that it was the right time to get it. When the anesthesiologist walked in to start the epidural he made sure that it would not hurt me or the baby and I mentioned what my family thought about it and the nurse and anesthesiologist looked at me like, ” I have never heard such a thing in my life!” The doctor reassured me that it could not harm you in the long run. The look on their faces was priceless!

  • Using a girdle after delivering the baby…FAGARSE!

Once I delivered the baby and was transferred to post-partum I looked so different compared to how I looked when

gurdleI was pregnant. My stomach was kind of hanging and I felt all sorts of pain, of course the nurses were giving me pain medications and taking the proper steps necessary to lead to me into a successful recovery.  My mother and aunts were asking me if the hospital had provided me with a girdle to start my recovery and the hospital did not, so they were worried. My mom and aunts were wondering why they didn’t provide me with one. They believe you must wear one in order to get back to how you were and for all your organs to go back into place. So you bet your bottom dollar I am wearing one right now! The belief is that you wear the girdle for 40 days and do not take it off for any reason other than showering. Everyone in my family does this and I’m sure it must be a hispanic belief as I have never heard woman of other ethnicities say anything about wearing a girdle after delivering.

  • Car Seat with the social worker

I don’t mean to sound like a free loader on this one, but I thought this was interesting. When Juan(my boyfriend) and I were about to leave the hospital we saw something missing on our car seat. The car seat we had was given to us by a friend who was no longer using it.

How_to_install_infant_car_seatsI had washed the covers and cleaned the apparatus before leaving to the hospital but didn’t know it was missing some vital parts. The nurses checked it out and said it was not safe to use and we needed to get another one. I called my mother-in-law and she advised me to ask if they gave car seats to the people who didn’t have one; unfortunately, they didn’t. She had mentioned to me when she had her first child she didn’t have a car seat and the hospital gave her one for free. So my point here is that in Laredo there is a high percentage of unemployed people and low-income families, so I believe that service is available in Laredo due to the statistics of poverty and need. Since I delivered at St. Davids North Austin I believe this is a main reason for them to not provide free car seats as north Austin is not a poverty-driven area. Nonetheless, Juan went to Babies R’Us and bought Amber a brand new car seat with the matching stroller.

I will leave you all with a video on how to properly install a car seat and hopefully it will come in handy some day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJ09iMCpJso

Also I want to show you all my baby girl, she’s a doll! 🙂 Here is Amber Rose Gonzalez who will turn one week old tomorrow! 🙂

DSC_3167

Hi, I’m Amber Rose! Nice to meet you 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sincerely,

April Reinhardt 🙂

2 thoughts on “Post-Partum Hispanic Beliefs and experiences

  1. Congrats on your baby!!! She’s beautiful! I just had a baby too, and I was wondering if you know what the hispanic belief about not sweeping the floors pp is all about? My husbands family keeps telling me to make sure I don’t sweep at all..

Leave a Reply

