Can I touch your eyelashes?!…..Que no te hagan ojo!

Hey Everyone,

The other day as I was scrolling down my facebook newsfeed one of my friends posts’ caught my complete attention.

I met Jordan my freshman year at The University of Texas at Austin.  She is a white female from Houston, Texas and is a student at the McCombs School of Business. She is a very friendly person and I still keep in touch with her from time to time.

Let’s get to the point here. Over the winter break she posted about her experience at the Lancome counter inside Macy’s in Houston.  She was getting her facial done when the make-up artist commented on her eyelashes. The lady said, “Your eyelashes are so beautiful, can I touch them?” Jordan said she was shocked and confused by the fact that the lady wanted to touch them.

It is very interesting to see how people are amazed by many beliefs

So I immediately commented a question on her post. I wrote, “was the lady hispanic?” and Jordan replied, “yes.” I knew exactly the lady meant by her compliment and urge to touch them.  A hispanic belief called, “ojo” is one that when you compliment someone on something of their own you should touch it in order to avoid “giving them the evil eye.”

I grew up listening to all the females in my family say this. My tias and abuelitas always talked about this and how they all believed in it. Accrodingly, I grew up believing this and I always follow through with touching whatever I compliment. I explained to Jordan that this was a belief many hispanics had and she was shocked and amazed at this new piece of information.

I love to see people learn about my culture because it’s fun to teach them something new. Growing up in Laredo I never saw any diversity because it is literally 95% Hispanic. It is very shocking because once I left Laredo to go to school in Austin, I was a victim of culture shock. It was amazing to see so many different ethnicities on campus. Thankfully I am now  an open-minded person and do not hestitate to make friends with anyone I meet.

I hope this blog entry was of some entertainment. I havn’t blogged in a while but I’m going to get back into it and hopefully create an interesting blog for both myself and my audience.

Love,

April Reinhardt

Leave a Reply

